Memos from your Child

Here is some advice a “wise” child might give to their parents …

  • Don’t spoil me. I know I ought not have all I’ve asked for. I’m only testing you.
  • Don’t be afraid to be firm with me. I prefer it. It makes me feel more secure.
  • Don’t let me form bad habits. I’m relying on you for their early detection.
  • Don’t make me feel “small”. It only makes me behave stupidly trying to be “big”.
  • Don’t correct me in front of others if you can help it. I prefer it in private.
  • Don’t protect me from consequences. I need to learn the painful way sometimes.
  • Don’t make rash promises. It breaks trust when promises are broken.

From Ephesians 6:4 –

“Do not exasperate your children; instead bring them up in the training and instruction of the Lord.”

2 thoughts on “Memos from your Child

  1. This is great advice. If you want children to behave right, you first have to treat them right! In the heat of the moment, it can be easy to forget that a young child has feelings and reactions similar to you. You wouldn’t want to be chastised in front of a crowd of your peers and neither do they. Not only does this work for parents, it also works for the children’s ministers. Keep in mind…Children are just smaller versions of yourself, so treat them with the respect they, and you, deserve.

Leave a Reply

